Browse by Tag
BBQ
Educational
Free camping
Gold history
Gold prospecting
Swimming
Walking track
Search

Site of Mt Cole Flats School and Shirley School

  • 20180624 152958
  • 20180624 153155
  • 20180624 152949
  • 20180624 153023
  • 20180624 153018
Ferntree Gully Road, Raglan VIC 3373

Explore other locations around this area using our interactive map

Features

  • Site of the Mt Cole Flats School
  • Stone monument
  • Roadside stop
This small field along Ferntree Gully Road is the site of the Mt Cole Flats School, which was established in 1876 and renamed to Shirley School in 1913.

The school was closed in 1928, and the building was relocated to Beaufort as the Salvation Army Hall.

Shirley School was reopened in 1948, when the Sailors Gully school was moved to this location. The Shirley School finally closed for good in 1957.

There are no buildings remaining on the site today.

A large stone monument stands by the fence line along Ferntree Gully Road. A plaque on the monument displays the following text:

Site of Mt Cole Flats School

21/10/1876 to 1913

Renamed in 1913
SHIRLEY SCHOOL
Closed April 1928

(School relocated to Beaufort as Salvation Army Hall)

Reopened Jan 1948 No 1760

(Sailors gully school moved to this site)

Shirley School Closed 18/12/1957


 

Comments

No comments

Leave a comment

Follow us on Facebook