Browse by Tag
BBQ
Educational
Free camping
Gold history
Gold prospecting
Swimming
Walking track
Search

Site of the Steiglitz Miner

  • 20200613 dsc 9079
  • 20200613 dsc 9078
Clow Street, Steiglitz VIC 3331

Explore other locations around this area using our interactive map

Features

  • Site of the Steiglitz Miner
  • Information sign
  • Part of the Steiglitz Town Walk
The Steiglitz Miner was the town's newspaper from 1893 until 1903, when it was sold and incorporated in the Meredith Sentinel. The site where the Steiglitz Miner's office once stood is indicated by an informative display along Clow Street, forming part of the fascinating historical Steiglitz Town Walk. 

A little further down the road you can see Sugg's Blacksmith Cottage, the next stop along the walk.

The information sign stands before an empty field and displays two interesting historical photographs along with the following text:

Work and Leisure

This site was the office of the Steiglitz Miner, first printed on 17 June 1893. The paper was sold in 1903 and incorporated in the Meredith Sentinel. Minogue's Sore is to the left, and on the right, the timber cottage where Mr Sugg the Blacksmith lived. The remains of his smithy and forge, which operated until the 1940s, can be seen beside the road. 

The level patch of land on the far side of Sutherlands Creek at the foot of Gibraltar Hill was the site of one of the Steiglitz tennis courts. Its charming location made it a popular venue for social games and elaborate picnics. 

The Steiglitz Town Walk begins at the nearby Steiglitz Courthouse, and is an easy half hour circuit filled with interesting ruins, relics and buildings of the gold rush era. 


 

Comments

No comments

Leave a comment

Follow us on Facebook