Browse by Tag
Free camping
Gold history
Gold prospecting
Walking track

Cumberland Hotel

  • 20211113 dsc 6449
  • 20211113 dsc 6448
  • 20211113 dsc 6447
3504 Creswick-Newstead Road, Smeaton VIC 3364

Explore other locations around this area using our interactive map


  • Beautiful historic hotel
  • Information sign
The Cumberland Hotel is a gorgeous old weatherboard pub in Smeaton, Victoria. It's a beautiful sight along the drive through town, and a great place to stop in for a drink or a meal.

Be sure to check out the beautiful nearby Andersons Mill and Smeaton Bridge while you're in the area! 

A Golden Way Heritage Trail sign stands over the road from the Cumberland Hotel and displays an 1890s photograph of Smeaton.

The sign displays the following text: 


In 1838 Captain John Hepburn arrived with sheep to settle in the Smeaton District with its 'seven hills'. In 1851 Gold Fever hit the District and over the next 3 decades gold, particularly the rich deep lead mines of the 'Berry Lead', sustained the growth of the district. 

Pictured is the former 2 storey hotel on the corner of Main Road and Clunes Road. In the background is a Saddler/Bookmakers shop, and other shops. A short distances to the south, is the historic bluestone Andersons Mill 1862, that operated till 1957, and the impressive Stone Arch Bridge over Birch's Creek.

A stone pioneer memorial monument stands alongside the information sign as well. 



No comments

Leave a comment