Browse by Tag
BBQ
Educational
Free camping
Gold history
Gold prospecting
Walking track
Search

Moliagul Common School

  • 20170510 165406
  • 20170510 165414
  • 20170510 165433
  • 20170510 165437
  • 20170510 165445
  • 156374 small Negative - Students & Teachers Outside the Common School, Mount Moliagul, Victoria, 1872 Source: Museums Victoria
  • 20170510 165401
43 High Street, Moliagul VIC 3472

Features

  • Historic building
  • Information sign
Located in the quiet town of Moliagul is this interesting old red brick school building. Formerly the Moliagul Common School No 746 (1872 - 1970), the building now stands quiet and empty, a fascinating testament to the town's industrious past. After the nearby discovery of the famous "Welcome Stranger" gold nugget, a larger school was required for the area and so the Moliagul Common School was built.

The following information is displayed on a 'Golden Way' information sign at the Moliagul Common School:

Moliagul Common School
Built 1872

This view of 1873 shows the school community in front of their new school. After the Welcome Stranger nugget was found at nearby Bulldog Gully in 1869, a larger, more permanent school was required. The school built of locally made red brick was opened in 1872, the first head teacher was Thomas Flynn (1872-1883) father of the "Flying Doctor", the Reverend John Flynn. The school closed in 1970.

Negative - Students & Teachers Outside the Common School, Mount Moliagul, Victoria, 1872
Source: Museums Victoria




 

Comments

No comments

Leave a comment

Follow us on Facebook