Browse by Tag
BBQ
Educational
Free camping
Gold history
Gold prospecting
Swimming
Walking track
Search

Blackwood Park and Stamp Battery

  • Dsc 9707
  • Dsc 9711
  • Dsc 9710
  • Dsc 9715
  • Dsc 9722
  • Dsc 9720
  • Dsc 9717
  • Dsc 9709
Intersection of Martin Street and Byres Road, Blackwood VIC 3458

Explore other locations around this area using our interactive map

Features

  • Stamp battery
  • War memorial
  • Picnic tables
  • Drinking tap
  • Information board
This little park in Blackwood features a rare and impressive gem - a 19th century stamp battery, once used in the Rip Van Winkle mine and driven by a thirty foot water wheel. Stamp batteries are few and far between these days, so it's always great to see one on display! Stamp batteries are simple machines which crush rock so that gold can be extracted, widely used during the late nineteenth and early twentieth centuries before being replaced by more efficient crushing methods.

A plaque on the battery displays the following text:

STAMPER BATTERY

This stamper battery was donated to the community of Blackwood by Mr and Mrs Herbert Cann.

Originally owned and used by H. H. Cann, the Byers Bros, and C. Gribble in the late 1800's to crush gold bearing rock at the Rip Van Winkle mine. It was driven by a 30 foot water wheel.

Later moved to the Easter Monday mine where it was retrieved by Herb and Ken Cann in the 1970's. 

Erected on this site by the Blackwood Progress Association in 1998.

The park also has a couple of picnic tables, a drinking fountain, a war memorial and an information board. It is a great spot to have a picnic lunch and enjoy the views along the gorgeous main street of Blackwood and the surrounding mountains. 

SEE ALSO


 

Comments

No comments

Leave a comment

Follow us on Facebook