Browse by Tag
BBQ
Educational
Free camping
Gold history
Gold prospecting
Swimming
Walking track
Search

Dr Barker Memorial

  • 20211202 dsc 7038
  • 20211202 dsc 7039
  • 20211202 dsc 7037
260 Eagles Road, Harcourt VIC 3453

Explore other locations around this area using our interactive map

Features

  • Monument
  • Site of Dr. Barker's Mount Alexander pastoral station
This roadside monument marks the site of the first permanent European settlement in the Harcourt Valley. Dr William Barker established the head station of the 30,000 acre Mount Alexander pastoral run here in 1845.

The Victorian Heritage Database provides this description of the ruins at this site:

The ruin of a granite and mud shed, consisting of a single wall incorporated into a shed. There is another standing wall at the western end. The walls appear to be standing at their original height. A bottle/rubbish dump has been noted on a slope above the creek in the paddock to the north east and may be associated. Ceramic has been found in the garden of the modern house to the west. 

Heritage Inventory Significance: Of high significance. These are reputed to be the remains of Dr Barker's house. He was the first settler at Harcourt. The discovery of gold on the Mt Alexander Goldfields was made on Dr Barker's station by four of his employees. There are in situ archaeological deposits. 

The stone monument features a plaque which displays the following text: 

In the year 1845 William Barker M.R.C.S established here the head station of the 30,000 acre Mount Alexander (No. 1) squatting run. 

This plaque was unveiled 7th October 1995 in celebration of the 150th anniversary of permanent settlement in the Harcourt Valley. 


 

Comments

No comments

Leave a comment